SmartQuant Discussion

Automated Quantitative Strategy Development, SmartQuant Product Discussion and Technical Support Forums
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:47 am

All times are UTC + 3 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:18 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Paris France
Possible reasons why these two lines don't build in OQ?

using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.Data;

_________________
Thx!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 6808
Hi,

I guess you should add corresponding references to Tools->Options->Projects and Solutions->Build

Regards,
Anton


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:18 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Paris France
Indeed :wink: Turned out to be a system file indexation problem. The files were actually present in the bin folder, but for some reason, oq didn't see them. Fix=use regedit to open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE then ctrl-f key combo to search for .dll in question (ex: SYSTEM.DLL) this will tell you which one win7 is using (not so obvious otherwise). Use windows explorer to copy it to oq bin folder (on my machine="C:\Program Files (x86)\SmartQuant Ltd\OpenQuant 2\Bin\System.dll". But mostly, one needs (that's how i solved this prob. anyway...) to grapple with file index options (configuration panel) to make sure it's indexing system files (which by default it doesn't...) which makes the dll visible to oq (is this just my machine or is this normal?). Was wondering, final detail on this, what effect does adding a dll to the build have on memory usage by oq. Especially the case where a dll is loaded, but in a given solution is not invoked by the 'using' c# keyword? :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 6808
Hi, I am not really an expert but I think you don't need to copy dlls such as system.dll and other core .net dlls to you local folder since they are in GAC. You just reference them and that's all.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:18 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Paris France
Perhaps it's my pc, but the above procedure was necessary and effective "chez moi". Assuming GAC=Global Assembly Cache, can some example be furnished to help document this part of OQ/windows functionality? Also, what about impact on memory?

_________________
Thx!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 3 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group