SmartQuant Discussion
http://www.smartquant.com/forums/

easy question - Position.Amount
http://www.smartquant.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=8942
Page 1 of 1

Author:  newDave [ Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:14 pm ]
Post subject:  easy question - Position.Amount

Hi guys,
I have a very easy but crucial question: is there any difference between Position.Amount and Position.Qty especially if I have a long position?

Thanks

Author:  Dr. Anton Fokin [ Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: easy question - Position.Amount

Hi,

no difference.

Regards,
Anton

Author:  newDave [ Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: easy question - Position.Amount

Thanks,
while playing with it I faced several situations when Position.Amount!=Position.Qty (even in absalut values.)
All this look quite strange.
Also I have to say that the meanings of Position.QtySold and Position.QtySoldShort are also not exactly clear for me.

I cannot find such an information about Position members in API guide(I would say there is no info at all about this) . Maybe you can write such info? Or you probably already have it written.
Otherwise how should the user guess about it? Mayby some users can gues it trying to think similarly to other trading systems UI, but I have experince only with Russian Quik and it really does not help to guess.

I am using trial and going to buy if I like it. In general, I am really impressed by the software but such a minor things really hinder the work a lot.

Author:  Dr. Anton Fokin [ Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: easy question - Position.Amount

Hi,

Qty = Abs(Amount).

Negative amount indicates short position in OQ portfolio.

Amount = QtyBough - QtySold - QtySoldShort;

Buy 50 :

QtyBought = 50
Amount = 50
Qty = 50
Side = Long

then Sell 150 :

QtySold = 50;
QtySoldShort = 100;
Amount = 50 - 50 - 100 = -50
Qty = 50
Side = Short


Regards,
Anton

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 3 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/