SmartQuant Discussion
http://www.smartquant.com/forums/

Black Chart?
http://www.smartquant.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=10590
Page 1 of 1

Author:  bean3178 [ Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:39 am ]
Post subject:  Black Chart?

Periodically, my charts will go black. I can close the window and re-open the chart and it displays fine. It may go black again at a later time, and I can close/re-open to correct the issue. Any idea what may cause this, or how I can correct it? I'm using OnTrade() to build my own bars, if that helps.

Author:  Baraz Sergey [ Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

Hi,

Does it happen in the beginning of the trading only or may happen in the middle as well?

Are you building Time bars or some other bar types?

Regards,
Sergey.

Author:  bean3178 [ Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I trade futures, so I leave everything running 24x7. I build bars on my own in the OnTrade() procedure using Bars.Add(). I could be wrong here, but I don't recall this happening prior to 1.5.0. I have this same issue across multiple instances of QuantTrader 1.5.0. To fix the issue, I just close the chart and re-open it.

Author:  bean3178 [ Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I think this may be happening when a new bar is formed. I run longer period charts, like 4-10 hours charts. I'll try to watch it when the next bar forms.

Author:  bean3178 [ Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I've confirmed that the chart is going black on each new bar. I'm updating and building my own bars using Bars.Add().

Author:  Baraz Sergey [ Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

Hi,

Are you building Time bars or Tickk/Volume etc?

Is it true that the timestamp of each new bar is "the latest" from all bars in the series, or you may add bars in the middle?

Regards,
Sergey.

Author:  bean3178 [ Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I'm building time bars. Only the last bar in the series is updated, and new bars are always added at the end since they have the most recent time (current time rounded down to nearest interval - 4 hour, 6 hour, etc.)

Author:  bean3178 [ Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I believe this issue is resolved to memory issues listed in another thread. I have the Performance Monitor interval set to 1 minute to minimize array lengths, and I've also been restarting my strategy frequently in order to keep memory utilization down. The charts seem to be acting okay now.

Author:  bean3178 [ Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

I'm actually still getting a black chart periodically. It seems to occur when a new bar is formed. I'm using onTrade() to build my own bars.

Author:  fcbizer [ Thu May 22, 2014 7:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Black Chart?

Black Chart also occurres for me when a new bar arrives. How to resolve it? can anybody help me, thanks!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 3 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/