SmartQuant Discussion

Automated Quantitative Strategy Development, SmartQuant Product Discussion and Technical Support Forums
It is currently Thu Sep 24, 2020 12:36 pm

All times are UTC + 3 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
Periodically, my charts will go black. I can close the window and re-open the chart and it displays fine. It may go black again at a later time, and I can close/re-open to correct the issue. Any idea what may cause this, or how I can correct it? I'm using OnTrade() to build my own bars, if that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:06 pm
Posts: 833
Hi,

Does it happen in the beginning of the trading only or may happen in the middle as well?

Are you building Time bars or some other bar types?

Regards,
Sergey.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I trade futures, so I leave everything running 24x7. I build bars on my own in the OnTrade() procedure using Bars.Add(). I could be wrong here, but I don't recall this happening prior to 1.5.0. I have this same issue across multiple instances of QuantTrader 1.5.0. To fix the issue, I just close the chart and re-open it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I think this may be happening when a new bar is formed. I run longer period charts, like 4-10 hours charts. I'll try to watch it when the next bar forms.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I've confirmed that the chart is going black on each new bar. I'm updating and building my own bars using Bars.Add().


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:06 pm
Posts: 833
Hi,

Are you building Time bars or Tickk/Volume etc?

Is it true that the timestamp of each new bar is "the latest" from all bars in the series, or you may add bars in the middle?

Regards,
Sergey.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I'm building time bars. Only the last bar in the series is updated, and new bars are always added at the end since they have the most recent time (current time rounded down to nearest interval - 4 hour, 6 hour, etc.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I believe this issue is resolved to memory issues listed in another thread. I have the Performance Monitor interval set to 1 minute to minimize array lengths, and I've also been restarting my strategy frequently in order to keep memory utilization down. The charts seem to be acting okay now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:57 am
Posts: 52
I'm actually still getting a black chart periodically. It seems to occur when a new bar is formed. I'm using onTrade() to build my own bars.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Black Chart?
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2014 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:00 am
Posts: 2
Black Chart also occurres for me when a new bar arrives. How to resolve it? can anybody help me, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 3 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group